#LastSeen | Arolsen Archives - Home page

Five partners – one goal

“#LastSeen. Pictures of Nazi Deportations” is the result of cooperation between the Arolsen Archives and four partner institutions: the House of the Wannsee Conference Memorial and Educational Site, the Institute for Municipal History and Remembrance, Munich, the USC Dornsife Center for Advanced Genocide Research, Los Angeles, and the Center for Research on Antisemitism at the TU Berlin.

Read the project flyer

The Arolsen Archives

The Arolsen Archives are involved in a variety of digital remembrance projects. They range from the extensive online archive on victims and survivors of Nazi persecution through to initiatives like #everynamecounts that inspire volunteers from all over the world. #LastSeen is their latest project.

Find out more about our work

Deportations: Berlin

More than 50,000 Jewish people were deported from Berlin. The Arolsen Archives have lists that document these deportations. No photos of the deportations from Berlin have yet been discovered. We hope to be able to find pictures of these historical events through #LastSeen.

Access the Berlin deportation lists

Remember and participate

The #LastSeen initiative uses a two-pronged approach. Firstly, it appeals for people to search for as-yet undiscovered contemporary photographs and film footage of Nazi deportations. Secondly, it appeals for people to help scholars identify the people and places shown on existing pictures and the contexts in which they were taken. Good local knowledge is often required, and sometimes research has to be carried out in the local area. The FAQ contain information on what you can do to help us.

Find out more

Information for archives

#LastSeen will bring together all photographs of deportations from the German Reich for the first time. Many of these pictures are already familiar, but they have never been published together. Even more photos are probably still hidden away in archives. Our FAQ covers everything archives need to know about the project. We look forward to working with you!

Find out more
#lastseen Logo
join in now!

#LastSeen | Arolsen Archives - Startseite

Fünf Partner – ein Ziel

Für „#LastSeen. Bilder der NS-Deportationen“ haben sich die Arolsen Archives mit vier institutionellen Partnern zusammengetan: der Gedenk- und Bildungsstätte Haus der Wannseekonferenz, dem Institut für Stadtgeschichte und Erinnerungskultur – Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München, dem USC Dornsife Center for Advanced Genocide Research, Los Angeles und dem Zentrum für Antisemitismusforschung der TU-Berlin.

Zum Projektflyer

Die Arolsen Archives

Vom umfangreichen Online-Archiv über die Opfer und Überlebenden der nationalsozialistischen Verfolgung bis hin zu Initiativen wie #everynamecounts, die Freiwillige in aller Welt aktiviert: Die Arolsen Archives setzen sich für digitale Erinnerungsprojekte ein. Dazu gehört auch das neue Projekt #LastSeen.

Mehr zu den Arolsen Archives

Deportationen: Beispiel Berlin

Mehr als 50.000 jüdische Menschen wurden aus Berlin deportiert. Die Arolsen Archives bewahren Listen auf, die diese Verschleppungen dokumentieren. Fotografien der Deportationen aus Berlin sind bislang keine bekannt. Vielleicht gelingt es durch #LastSeen, Bilder zu finden.

Zu den Berliner Deportationslisten

Erinnern und Mitmachen

Die Initiative #LastSeen ruft dazu auf, bisher unbekannte zeitgenössische Fotografien und Filme von NS-Deportationen zu suchen und die Wissenschaftler*innen dabei zu unterstützen, Personen, Orte und Kontexte bekannter Bilder zu identifizieren. Dafür sind oft eine gute Ortskenntnis notwendig oder auch lokale Recherchen. Hier erfahren Sie, wie Sie uns unterstützen können.

Mehr erfahren

Infos für Archive

Erstmalig sollen alle Bilder der Deportationen aus dem Gebiet des Deutschen Reichs zusammengetragen werden. Viele sind zwar bekannt, aber alle zusammen sind bislang nie veröffentlicht worden. Und es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass es in Archiven weitere Bilder gibt. In den FAQ haben wir alle wichtigen Informationen für Archive zusammengestellt. Wir freuen uns auf die Zusammenarbeit!

Mehr erfahren
#lastseen Logo
jetzt mitmachen!